Forgive Me, Alex

Two men, two methods, two motivations, one darkness--step inside the twisted mind of a killer, and of the man determined to end him at any cost.

The Kindle Book Review says: “Lane Diamond has succeeded in bringing to the surface the dark and horrifying mind of a psychotic serial killer, while at the same time bringing forth the desperate need for humanity and justice for the victims and their families.”

~~~

eBook $2.99 Direct

(Buy from EP and Save $1.00 vs. Retail Sites)

Simple to download and read on any device.

~~~

Tony Hooper stands in shadow across the street, one amongst many in the crowd of curiosity-hounds gathered to watch a monster's release. Seventeen years after Mitchell Norton, "the devil," terrorized Algonquin, Illinois on a spree of kidnapping, torture and murder, the authorities release the butcher from psychiatric prison.

Tony longs to charge across the street to destroy Norton--no remorse--as if stepping on a cockroach. Only sheer force of will prevents his doing so.

"The devil" walks the world again. What shall Tony do about it? Aye, what indeed. After all, this is what Tony does. It's who he is. The devil himself long ago made Tony into this hunter of monsters.

What a sweet twist of fate this is, that he may still, finally, administer justice. Or will FBI Special Agent Linda Monroe stop him? She owes him her life, so how can she possibly put an end to his?

~~~

To order direct from a major online retailer,

just click the "Order Now" button below.

Order Now!
About the Book

This story of justice and vengeance, evil and redemption, fear and courage, love and loss, has been called “half Red Dragon and half Flowers for Algernon.”

  • WINNER: Pinnacle Book Achievement Award – Best Thriller, Summer 2014
  • AWARDED: 5-Star Review, Reader’s Favorite Book Reviews
  • SEMI-FINALIST: Kindle Book Review – Best Indie Books of 2012

[Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Crime, Serial Killer, Vigilante Justice]

Evolved Publishing presents an award-winning and critically-acclaimed look at what might happen to an ordinary guy when a serial killer destroys his world.

“Forgive Me, Alex” is perfect for fans of Lee Child (Jack Reacher Series), James Patterson (Alex Cross Series), David Baldacci (John Puller Series), Dot Hutchison, Adam Mitzner, Jeffery Deaver (Lincoln Rhyme Series), and more.

EXCERPT: Now mortality, as it did seventeen years ago, lingers above me like the hangman’s noose. Yet it looms more ominous than ever, as if it will drop down around my neck at any moment. After all, I know the true Mitchell Norton. And whom shall I fear if not the devil, the grim torturer who conquered my aspirations and left me without a recognizable world of my own?

follow-on-bookbub-button-2Click the BookBub button to keep informed of special deals on this book and others by Lane Diamond. Just FOLLOW him on BookBub, and be sure to BOOKMARK his books as “Wanted (Deal Alert)”–that way you won’t miss out.
 

AUDIOBOOK:

The complete unabridged audiobook is now available (just click on an icon below).

Forgive Me, Alex - Audio Book Cover
EP_Sales_Button_Amazon
(You can sample the audio book here, via link right under the cover.)
EP_Sales_Button_Audible
(You can sample the audio book here, via link right under the cover.)
EP_Sales_Button_iTunes

AWARDS:

AIABadgeRaisedGold
 
Awesome Indies-Approved – Thriller


 
Indie Book of the Day


 
UP AUTHORS Fiction Challenge 2013 – Honorable Mention

KBR Semi Finalist 2012
 
Kindle Book Reviews – 2012 Semi-Finalist

PRINT BOOK INFO:

Trade Cloth / Hardcover:

ISBN: 1622539044
ISBN-13: 978-1-62253-904-8
6.14 x 9.21 x 0.5625 (1.108 Lbs)
242 Pages (30/carton)
List Price: $27.95

Perfect Bound / Softcover:

ISBN: 1622539052
ISBN-13: 978-1-62253-905-5
6.14 x 9.21 x 0.5094 (0.763 Lbs)
242 Pages (32/carton)
List Price: $13.95

THE TEAM:

Lane Diamond – Author
D.T. Conklin – Editor
Mallory Rock – Cover Artist
Kevin Scollin – Audiobook Producer/Narrator

Details
Author:
Series: Tony Hooper, Book 1
Genres: 2.99 eBooks, 3.99 eBooks, Crime, Thriller / Suspense
Tags: Audiobook, eBook, EP Direct, Hardcover, On Sale, Paperback
Publisher: Evolved Publishing
Publication Year: 2011
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, Audiobook
Length: 89,000 Words
Narrator: Kevin Scollin
ASIN: B006NTNQP8
ISBN: 1622539044
List Price: $13.95 Paperback, $27.95 Hardcover (May Be Discounted By Retailers)
eBook Price: $4.99 ($4.29 Direct from Publisher -- For Any Devices)
Audiobook Price: $23.08 Reg (May Be Discounted)
Endorsements
Lane Diamond has succeeded in bringing to the surface the dark and horrifying mind of a psychotic serial killer, while at the same time bringing forth the desperate need for humanity and justice for the victims and their families.
FORGIVE ME, ALEX is classified as a psychological suspense thriller, and suspense should really be bolded and italicized. There is a certain level of mastery a writer must possess in order to effectively build this kind of breathless expectation in a reader, and Diamond does just that, not only by switching us back and forth between 1978 (when the events that set everything in motion took place) and 1995 (the subsequent aftermath after the serial killer is released), but also by switching up narrative perspectives between our hero and antagonist. Although I was originally afraid all this moving about might harm the linearity of the tale, my fears were unfounded: The story developed and evolved brilliantly, and kept me turning the pages wanting more. More. More.
Psychological thrillers are my kind of books! Not only do I write them, but truly enjoy reading one that makes my skin crawl, my nerves skitter with fear and my heart thump a tad louder. This incredible novel by Lane Diamond handed me ALL of that, in spades! The ending is a perfect way to ease the reader down from the intense, page-gripping high that the author just yanked them through, leaving the option wide open for a sequel. Out of all the books I have read this year, this one just launched itself to #1 for me!
Suck a rubber duck if you are not blown away by this dark psychological thriller. In a world where characters are as vital as in the Game of Thrones, the suspense had me on the edge of my seat and holding my breath for everyone involved. Neighboring Huntley, the setting is home to me, making this all the more twisted and real for me. If you love serial killers, red herrings, the thrill of the chase, and unpredictable endings, you are in for a treat. Methodically thorough, this book came together like a well-crafted puzzle. The word choice, though coarse, is meaningful and eloquent. The switching points of view and timelines were plot-driven, not pointless. The narrator made this story come alive. I loved all of the character voices. Well, I loved all of them except one. The author created such a vile creature in the serial killer that by the end of the book, I heard his voice and wanted to throw up. Authors should look to this as a great example of the use of an epilogue and cliffhanger. In short: mind blown.
I could not put this book down.....well....I did have to occasionally, but I didn't want to! It was so well written, the characters were so real to me and the suspense kept me coming back. I would read it every little chance I had and would read previous pages just to refresh my mind. This book took me on a roller coaster range of emotions: tears, fear, excitement, and happiness. I also got a surprise at the end of this book by finding out there is a sequel! I'm jumping up and down in excitement because I WILL be downloading the sequel so I can ride that roller coaster again!
Reviews