The Last Meridian
$14.95 Paperback (May Be Discounted By Retailers)eBook: $3.99Audiobook: Coming Soon
Author:
Genres: 3.99 eBooks, Crime, Hardboiled Detective, Mystery
Tags: Audiobook, eBook, New Release, Paperback
Publisher: Evolved Publishing
Publication Year: 2017
Format: Paperback, eBook, Audiobook
Length: 88,321 Words
Narrator: Coming Soon
ASIN: B06ZYTPJQ6
ISBN: 1622531442
A telegram sets off a chain of events that destroys five lives. Nina Ferrer learns the boy she gave up for adoption sixteen years earlier has been arrested for murder, and hires a private eye to uncover the truth. She soon discovers her cheating husband is involved in another deadly plot, and now she can no longer look back; the present is riddled with deceit, and the future looks hopeless.
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Apple iBooks
Buy from Kobo
Buy from Scribd
Buy from Smashwords
Buy from GoodReads
About the Book

Description

 
 
ANNOUNCEMENT: Congratulations to the whole project team, as we recently heard the great news!
WINNER: Pinnacle Book Achievement Award – Summer 2017 – Best Crime Fiction
 
 
The Last Meridian – crossing it was her only choice.

A telegram sets off a chain of events that destroys five lives, throwing Hollywood insider Nina Ferrer’s life into turmoil. The infant boy she gave up for adoption in Chicago sixteen years earlier has been arrested for murder. A plea from the boy’s adoptive mother pushes her to act, but Nina has a big problem—she never told her husband about the boy.

Nina must come to terms with her guilt, while accepting the reality of her fragile life and her cheating husband, who’s embroiled in another deadly plot. As her life unravels, the boy’s fate grows ominous. Set against the backdrop of the Hollywood heyday of the early 1960s, the quick-witted, smart-talking Nina, a designer for the well-heeled of Los Angeles, hires a private detective to uncover the facts about what happened back in Chicago, and save her boy. Maybe… just maybe… he can save her, too.

Or perhaps Nina will have to save herself, the most frightening prospect of all. To do that, she must cross The Last Meridian, the place beyond which life as she knows it will no longer exist.

Audiobook

The complete unabridged audiobook will be coming in late 2017 or early 2018. Please stay tuned for details.

Awards

Print Book Info

Perfect Bound / Softcover:
ISBN: 1622531442
ISBN-13: 978-1-62253-144-8
6.14 x 9.21 x 0.6042 (0.900 Lbs)
288 Pages (28/carton)
List Price: $14.95

The Team

Joe Hefferon – Author
Lane Diamond – Editor
Jeroen ten Berge – Cover Artist

Endorsements

"Joe, apologies that it took me so much time to read The Last Meridian (long story), but now I have. It's an extraordinarily fine book, but I'm sure you already know that. Normally period noir really isn't my cup of tea, to coin a phrase, but your version of the genre held my attention all the way through, which is darn near a first for me. I think it it was the dialogue that really carried it. Heck, you could almost dance to it. And thanks for the mention in the acknowledgments, although I'm not really sure I deserved any recognition. Great , great work, man. You can be proud of it."

"The book took a short while to gel for me as there are a lot of characters to remember, at the beginning, but before 10% I'd settled into the back-and-forth-in-time structure, and begun to really enjoy it. Mr. Hefferon is masterful at creating atmosphere, and I loved the cynical, seedy crime/Hollywood characters. I especially liked some of the short backstories; that of CS, and mother Larissa, in particular.

The character I found the most interesting was Jimmy, and I liked the extracts from his manuscript, and his philosophical pondering... I liked the observations about the people, fashions and culture... about the locations... and about Nina's dysfunctional marriage.

Joe Hefferon is an intelligent and talented writer, and I hope he is as proud of this clever and delightfully atmospheric novel as he should be."

"Well written, in a style that reminded me of Dashiell Hammett. The plot line is strong, the characters well developed and multi-dimensional, the dialogue engaging. A strong recommend for fans of Bogey and Bacall."

Look Inside